top of page
Search
  • John Pearson

Lost Sheep

Updated: Dec 20, 2019

December 20th

While walking in the country with Dad, David came upon a young sheep that had got separated from the flock. The sheep seemed quite content until David tried to steer it back through the gap in the hedge. David wished he had just left the sheep but knew it would be safer with the flock. Dad stood and laughed…

“Don’t rush at him David, he has to be gently persuaded to go.”

“He just seems to want to go anywhere but where I want him to.”

“Let’s try together, you stand to the left and I’ll go to the right. Just little steps now – there he goes. Now let’s put some branches in that gap.”


Often gentle coaching is most effective in difficult situations. Having a sense of calm, so not to alarm the sheep. However, sheep are probably not as stupid as we would believe, stubborn perhaps!


Sheep and lambs are mentioned many times in the bible. They are spoken about as being sacrificial, lost and people of God. These are creatures who have no natural defence system – they are in great need of a protector, a Shepherd. Sheep in those days were a large source of income, yet a shepherd was one of the lowliest occupations.


Jesus said, “I am the good shepherd, I know my own and my own know me.” And again, “My sheep follow me because they know my voice.”


Psalm 23:1-3

A psalm of David.

The Lord is my shepherd, I lack nothing. He makes me lie down in green pastures, he leads me beside quiet waters, he refreshes my soul. He guides me along the right paths for his name’s sake.


Prayer

Thank you Father for sending your Son to be our shepherd, to call us into safety and guide us to clean waters. Thank you that the Lamb of God, lays down his life in sacrifice for our atonement. Help us Lord, to hear your guiding voice, Amen.


Conversations are two way

We welcome your comments

Tomorrow – Accelerating

32 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Jaz Davidson

A Christmas Eve Story As I sat in my armchair reading the Evening Gazette, I was taken back about thirty years. It was a cold and wet November evening. The streets were empty, and the wind was blowing

Mobile Links

It seems the mobile version of the website got the day links mixed. Appologies to anyone who experienced trouble in this way. The Pc or laptop had not been affected. Please enjoy your reading and allo

A Waiting Game

December 1st David and his Dad were in the dentist waiting room. There was no real panic today, as it was only a check-up and David had been cleaning his teeth every day. It was the beginning of Decem

bottom of page