top of page
Search
  • John Pearson

On Demand

Updated: Nov 20, 2019

December 19th

David had been waiting all day for the post to arrive. He was expecting the latest Lemony Snicket book and his excitement was fit to burst. It was agreed David could have a copy on the day of release, rather than wait for his birthday.

“Dad, why is the postman late today and not any other day?”

“I am sure there is a good reason, but they also say a watched kettle never boils.”

“But the kettle will boil, I don’t think this postman will come at all.”

“Everything comes to he who waits son.”

“Oh Dad!”


Do we have time, can we wait, will we miss something? Our life is geared around having everything at our fingertips. We are living in a time when everything seems to be on demand; we are in danger of information overload and we begin to wonder what is real.


Catch up TV is an obvious example. I suspect we rarely watch live TV and often put the device on hold while dealing with interruptions. It’s a luxury to fast forward, rewind and play our entertainment, social media and Internet knowledge base. How quickly though, this feature becomes adopted into the rest of our life. We are no longer part of the moment; we often choose to replay an event or conversation as an observer, rather than a full participant.


Christ Jesus entered our world and calls us to be in that moment with him, throughout the whole of our lives. Living in the moment, being fully aware of our presence is extremely special. You recognise those moments when you have experienced something deeply, held your breath… (something beyond description).


John 14:25-27

My peace I give you

“These things I have spoken to you while I am still with you. But the Helper, the Holy Spirit, whom the Father will send in my name, he will teach you all things and bring to your remembrance all that I have said to you. Peace I leave with you; my peace I give to you. Not as the world gives do I give to you. Let not your hearts be troubled, neither let them be afraid."


Prayer

Father God draw us into your peace through the birth of your son Jesus the Christ. May we share in that unique moment, that your peace may dwell within us for evermore. Amen.


Conversations are two way

We welcome your comments

Tomorrow – Lost Sheep

33 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Jaz Davidson

A Christmas Eve Story As I sat in my armchair reading the Evening Gazette, I was taken back about thirty years. It was a cold and wet November evening. The streets were empty, and the wind was blowing

Mobile Links

It seems the mobile version of the website got the day links mixed. Appologies to anyone who experienced trouble in this way. The Pc or laptop had not been affected. Please enjoy your reading and allo

A Waiting Game

December 1st David and his Dad were in the dentist waiting room. There was no real panic today, as it was only a check-up and David had been cleaning his teeth every day. It was the beginning of Decem

bottom of page